



## August 13, 2019

The Honorable John Barrasso

Chair, Senate Committee on Environment and
Public Works

410 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The Honorable Tom Carper
Ranking Member, Senate Committee on
Environment and Public Works
456 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Dear Chairman Barrasso and Ranking Member Carper:

On behalf of the California Waterfowl Association (CWA) and the Grassland Water District (GWD) we write in support of S. 2092, the *Modernizing Pittman-Robertson Fund for Tomorrow's Needs Act* and respectfully request a markup. This important legislation would provide much needed flexibility to state agencies to use Pittman-Robertson funds for the recruitment, retention, and reactivation of hunters and recreational shooters (R3).

The Pittman-Robertson Act has been essential to the North American System of Conservation Funding. Hunters and recreational shooters contribute around \$800 million annually from sporting-related excise taxes to state agencies for various conservation efforts. To date, this legislation has contributed almost \$11.5 billion to wildlife conservation since its enactment. Despite this success, our nation has lost nearly 5 million hunters in the last decade.

GWD and CWA support this legislation to allow for more adaptable and creative use of Pittman-Roberson funds to go towards the continued retention and recruitment of more outdoorsmen and women. Furthermore, S. 2092 would provide states additional flexibility to implement the National Hunting and Shooting Sports Action Plan, which is a comprehensive plan to implement nationwide R3 programs.

We appreciate your continued efforts to improve conditions for sportsmen and women throughout the country and looks forward to working with you to secure more opportunities for sporting activities for nontraditional audiences.

## Sincerely,

Mars Hemely

Mark Hennelly
VP of Legislative Affairs and Public Policy
California Waterfowl Association

Ricardo Ortega General Manager Grassland Water District

Cc: Senator James Risch

Senator Doug Jones

**Senator Tom Cotton** 

Senator Martin Heinrich

Senator Lamar Alexander

Senator Joe Manchin

Senator Deb Fischer

Senator Angus King

Senator John Boozman